Fun in the Sun

No prizes for guessing where I've been today!  My role today was outside supporting Visitor Services so I was at the North Fountain (where the buses stop) meeting, greeting, helping people on and off the buses and generally being there to direct or assist.  It was lovely outside today - sunny but not too hot as I worked the afternoon shift when the shade from the trees gives a break from the sun.  The temperature was perfect.

Panasonic had a display stand there today - they are at a series of NT properties over the next few weeks - with their whole range of lenses on show.  As these fit my new Olympus, I was interested in seeing the options for wide angle and I was able to try out the various options on my Olympus camera.  I liked them all - the fish-eye 8mm, the 7-14mm and the 8-18mm - how can I decide?  Any Olympus or Panasonic people got recommendations?  Should I buy through Panasonic site then I can get 20% off the price.  The blip was taken with the fish-eye but there's quite a bit of PS involved here.

There was a comfortably large number of visitors today - all enjoying the sunshine and the spectacular grounds - so we weren't rushed off our feet but still very busy.  At one point a little lad called Henry scooted up to the bus pick-up (he was about 3/4) and sat himself at the back of the bus ready to leave - no parents around.  The bus driver alerted me to this so, with no parents even in sight, I took him off the bus and got him to wait with me. If his parents had spoken to any member of staff, then this would have been relayed on the radio system, and I could have said he was with me.  It was probably about 15-20 mins before Henry said, 'That's my Dad!'.  Henry and parents were reunited - Mum was not happy with him as he has done this before. Without an alert bus driver and someone to watch him while the parents were searching - he could have been very lost.  Moral being - if your child goes AWOL in a public place, do tell a staff member so the word can be spread and child relocated with parent!

A beautiful day with promise of the same tomorrow.  This is probably our summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.