Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Indigo Bunting - Yardbird #29

I decided to tuck into the hide for a little while early this morning.  I had my tea and was enjoying watching the usual birds when I glanced over and saw the stunning shade of blue that can only be an Indigo Bunting!  Although these beautiful little birds breed in our area, my yard does not provide their favored breeding habitat so if I see them in the garden at all, it is only during migration.  Funnily, during my recent blip-trip to Texas, we saw hoards of Indigos that had just arrived from Central America.  But my best photo - definitely this one.  The morning light was just right and my camera settings were also just right.  Serendipity.  This is a bird that requires no faffing about - his colors are spectacular and show best on an overcast morning like this one.

Seen here, he's perched on the place where the Bluebirds like to sit so they can keep an eye on their nest box which is only about 7 feet away.  A moment after I took this, Madame zoomed out of the trees and chased him away.  You can see a shot of the impending attack in Extra - good for a laugh.  

Been pottering about today.  Getting ready to move some seedlings outside to harden off and also need to start poking some annual seeds into the ground (and then hope we don't get another freeze.)

Although I was dying to check on Mama Mouse, I am staying away.  I did, however, set up my trail cam on the deck last night and was able to see her coming out and gathering up some food (cracked corn).  I am going to leave a little food under the grill for her tonight too - if she doesn't have to travel far for food, there is less chance of something getting her.  And in three weeks she and babes should be ready to move.  And then we will leave the cover OFF the grill!  

Thanks you for all the love on little Mama and her pink babies.  Apparently I'm not the only one who is a sucker for little family of mice.  

xo
Debbi

PS:  In nesting news, there are now two perfect little blue eggs in the bluebird box.  Finally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.