Vuvuzela

 MerrilHope is in charge of Mono Monday and she has chosen themes related to musical form.  Today's  topic is "SOLO".  This Vuvuzela is the only musical instrument I own. ( I'm clutching at straws I know ) Traditionally made and inspired by a kudu horn the Vuvuzela was used to summon distant villagers to attend community gatherings in South Africa. The Vuvuzela is commonly used at football  matches and it has become a symbol of South African football as the stadiums are filled with its sound.

It produces a loud monotone sound - a sound which is not to everyone's taste. It  has been the subject of controversy when used by spectators at football matches. The Spanish midfielder Alonzo is quoted as saying  "Those trumpets? That noise I don't like ... FIFA must ban those things ... it is not nice to have a noise like that".  Vuvuzelas are actually banned at many sporting venues and occasions including Lords Cricket Ground, nine premiership football clubs, Wimbledon as well as the 2018 World Cup.

I won this Vuvuzela in a competition - rather a random and useless prize I think.  But at least it came in handy today to use as my blip.  I did give it a blow today - the noise it made frightened the cats!.

No Fitness Class today with it being a Bank Holiday.  I walked down to the village anyway and did some food shopping.  Then I mowed the back lawn and did a bit of weeding.  Then back down to the village for Slimming Class.  Put on half a pound.  Rather disappointed at that as I thought I had had a " good week ".  Never mind.  Will stick with it and see what next week brings.

The weather today has been lovely again - sunny and warm all day.  I could get used to this.

Steps today - 11,908

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.