WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS

THIS was the song that blasted out around St James Park this afternoon to mark the occasion of Newcastle United winning the Championship -  and being promoted to the Premiership of course.

It was a tense match as Brighton could also have come out top of the division - if they had won at Aston Villa.  So everyone was checking their phones for updates on the Brighton match and when Brighton scored a goal it was a blow.  Newcastle won their match 3 - 0.  But what had happened at Brighton?  Well they got a draw.  Not good enough.  Newcastle were Champions.

And the crowd went WILD.  And the players went WILD.  It was amazing.  I have never felt so happy at a football match before.

The team and Manager were presented with THE CUP.  Champagne was sprayed everywhere - as you can see from my blip shot it did go everywhere.  Not just one bottle either - quite a few of them.

Then Rafa Benitez the Manager led the players on a lap of honour around the pitch accompanied by wives/girlfriends/children etc.  It was wonderful to see just how ecstatic the players were with their achievement.  Smiles all round for sure.

I took 147 photographs.  Took me ages to sort through them this evening and trying to pick the one to blip was really difficult as so many of them captured the occasion.  I chose this one just for the sheer joy of it.  I have put some others as Extras.

So I left the ground " on a high " as you can imagine.  I headed for Waitrose and my good mood continued when I bought 3 fillets of sea bass for £3 - reduced from £9.  Its been popped into the freezer for a later date.

Just a normal evening here watching TV.  But I'm looking forward to Premiership football next season.  Bring it on. (  I just hope Rafa will stay on as Manager. He is a legend )

Steps today - 9,580

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.