On Fire!

What a day! I had a message from Elif at 9am to say that she’d just heard that her dad had passed away this morning. He had problems with his heart and was only 59 so no age at all.

She was at the shop with Luca and very distraught so I said I’d go over. When I got there she was very upset because she doesn’t have a passport yet for Luca and being Muslim, the funeral is tomorrow.

I telephoned the passport office to explain the problem and to see if there was any way of having a passport expedited for collection today. They said they could arrange an urgent travel document and asked if Elif could attend an appointment tomorrow. I reiterated that they needed it today and eventually they said they would send a report to the passport office in London, but that Elif would have to provide them with proof as to why she needed to travel so soon.

She got a copy of the death certificate and we emailed this together with Luca’s birth certificate and copies of Elif & Seyran’s passports, however this wasn’t acceptable and they needed proof that the funeral is tomorrow. Sadly they ran out of time, the passport office closed and no document was produced. She can’t travel without Luca as he’s only 6 weeks old and she’s breast feeding, it’s so very sad and I really feel for her!

I started work at 2pm and had another session of acupuncture which does seem to be helping. Then it’s been non stop, it’s been so busy it was time to come home before I knew it!

I managed to catch the sunset on my way home and it really looked like the sky was on fire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.