Liberation Day has gone...

Which is true but after I’d posted today’s blip I went to our U3A Liberation Lunch and one of our members was proudly wearing her Liberation Medal. Wendy was only two years old at the time but still she qualified for the medal and I thought that she certainly deserved to be my blip for the day. So I’ve left my previous write up below this...

... and by 9.00 this morning had morphed into The Guernsey Literary Festival. That's much better; certainly a lot quieter.
Celebrating something wonderful and so personal to Guernsey and Jersey  (Sark wasn't liberated until 10 May and Alderney was never liberated as such because no civilians remained there; so they celebrate Homecoming on 15 December when islanders were finally able to return to their homes) is wonderful but I no longer like crowds or noise and the loud music continued until 11.00pm last night.

What I hadn't realised when I posted yesterday's blip was that when we rang yesterday afternoon it would be something never before rung so we were able to name it. We named it Liberation Doubles! 
Today we ring for Ascension Day but not anything new because we have a couple of visitors joining us and we don't know whether they would share our love of weird and wonderful variations. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.