Demonstration

St Peter's Square in Manchester is a real success (in contrast to the continuing failure to get Piccadilly Gardens right).

One indicator of that success is it's attraction as a venue for demonstrations. I came across this very unusual one. Lots of pairs of shoes and other footwear, all with hand written messages attached to them. Beyond people in red shirts, many in wheel chairs. It is all about people suffering from ME and the lack of recognition and attention they are getting. Quite a moving way of getting a point across.

I also popped into the cathedral. A concert had just finished, a lady enthused over it as I walked in. Six choirs all with people who communicate with sign language (so I imagine they are largely deaf). There were lots of animated hand and arm conversations going on. I was sad I had missed it.

I came across a newly finished piece of embroidery - we are coming up to the anniversary of the bombing at the Ariane Grandé concert (extra).

The reason for the trip to the city centre had to do with "holiday shopping", and a haircut for J. Success on both fronts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.