Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not Just Any Little Brown Bird

No, it's a Swainson's Thrush which is a rare treat to find in my yard, and is my 32nd yard bird to be blipped this year.  I think this is only the second time I've ever seen one in my yard and maybe the 2nd or 3rd time in New Jersey (although we saw quite a few in Texas recently.)  These rather plain little birds are somewhat difficult to distinguish from their close relative, the Gray-cheeked Thrush although the latter doesn't have the buffy colors around the face.  

Swainson's Thrush spend winters in Mexico and Central America and mostly breed in Alaska, Canada and far northern New England as well as a small region in the Rocky Mountains.  Meaning that the only time we have a chance to see them is during spring and fall migration.  I was fortunate to be in the hide when he/she came and landed on the shadbush for a minute before taking off.

A few other yard notables - a beautiful Magnolia Warbler who was just too high up in the trees to photograph, and a second male Scarlet Tanager who was singing from up in one of our cedars.  There was something else singing that I think may have been a Northern Parula Warbler, but I could never figure out exactly where it was (the downside of single-sided hearing). 

Did some gardening today, including puling out some grass and mulching around a fresh patch of milkweed that's coming up next to my big pollinator garden.  Very happy to see so much milkweed finally taking root!  The Phlox, bee balm, coneflowers, foxglove and columbine are all growing nicely and have spread some since last year which is great.  I have three pollinator patches now, with mostly all native stuff.  

Oh, and I added a small bee house to the garden this spring and Mason Bees have already taken over quite a few of the cavities. Very exciting as I wasn't sure if they'd take to it so quickly.  I am already thinking about a second bee house, one that Hubs may be able to make for me I(poor Hubs who really doesn't like bees at all!)

Monsieur Bluebird continues to bring Madame small treats throughout the day - sometimes he delivers them into the box for her and other times she comes out and dines al fresco.  Lovely to see.  

Took MIL to see her kidney doctor today - she was making passes at both the doctor and his male nurse.  Both of them were excellent sports about the whole thing and the receptionist was laughing so hard I think she nearly fell out of her chair.  Never a dull moment.

TTFN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.