A good news bad news kind of a day

We went to see the puppies this morning. At two and a half weeks they're as cute as wee buttons. Wobbling around on legs that seem too small to support their little round bellies. Much cuddling ensued.

Home to pick up the still limping (only slightly) Cousteau and then off out to catch up with fellow-blipper, MLY (pictured here with Cousteau) at a cafe in town. She's in NZ from Sweden for a wee while. It was fantastic to meet another blipper, especially one who has come from the other side of the world. She is lovely and of course, Cousteau got lots of fuss made of him. Not to mention lots of photos taken.

Then we had to take Ma and Dad to the airport. It's always so hard to let them go. I just hugged Dad so tight and didn't want to stop. They disappeared through Departures and it felt as if part of me was going with them. I felt a physical pain. Hours later, it still hasn't gone away.

I know that it's my choice to live on the other side of the world and I love living here. Most of the time, I can just kinda not think about the fact that they are so far away. I have a great life, a great job, etc. It just hurts to say goodbye, is all.

I'll speak to them when they get home. They have so many friends and such a busy life back in the UK, we'll all soon get on with things and life will return to normal.

When you read this Ma and Dad, as I know you will, I love you so much. Thank you for travelling all the way around the world to come and visit. I appreciate it more than you know. I will try and communicate better with you. Sometimes I feel that by keeping stuff from you, I'm protecting you. I realise, of course, that with Ma's uncanny ability to sniff out how I am despite the distance, in fact, I'm making it worse by keeping you in the dark.

Cousteau has enjoyed meeting his Grandparents again. I'm so glad that they all got on. Ma actually cried when she gave him a hug and said goodbye. :)

So, feeling a bit fragile. Back to work tomorrow.

Night.

Edit: A year ago - Cousteau is injured! Seems like a common occurence! Poor boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.