An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Alan and the Handmaidens...

That sounds like a good name for a band!  :-))

Woke up to another beautiful morning.  I could get used to this.  David walked Lola early then headed off for a golf lesson and I waited for K who was coming at 11am to do more physio with me then Alan.

As the legacy of this chest infection is a horrible cough, she focussed on exercises to stretch my torso and expand my lungs.  It's difficult remembering to stretch, fix, straighten, lean and breathe all at the same time but once I got the knack, it felt great.  Also did some core strengthening followed by leg and hip exercises.  She finished off by giving my back one of her amazing massages.  Honestly, I could have let her do it for hours and hours.

Once she had finished with me we had lunch together, joined by David, who has returned from his golf lesson in high spirits.  This new golf pro that he is seeing is definitely improving his game.

Then it was Alan's turn.  

After the success of getting him into his sit-to-stand chair last week, K thought another go would be good, mainly to let David see exactly how Alan should be positioned when in it, making sure his feet, hips, knees and shoulders are symmetrical.   

I went through to see him once he was positioned and got a big surprise when I saw how much he had sprouted since the last time I saw him in it. He was delighted to see he's taller than his support worker Sarah, and Kirsteen and me!  It felt so strange (but lovely :-) to stand beside him and have him looking down on me.  

Spent late afternoon / early evening in the Gin Palace with David and Lola.  We gave Lola a new Ikea goldie and after a brief cuddle she pulled the stuffing out of it.  I really hope this is a phase she will grow out of!  We ended up having our dinner in the Gin palace then David headed off to see Ben Folds at the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow.

I was supposed to be going but as I have this horrible tickly cough still, I didn't think my presence would be welcome by other audience members.  If he'd had a full band with him I may have gone but it's just him and his piano and I would have been mortified if I'd started coughing.

So just me and Lola home this evening and listening to Ben Folds with my feet up.

I have definitely Landed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.