Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bill Maslin's house

A day largely spent sitting at the laptop booking holidays. Two to be precise; one in the UK and one abroad. The one in the UK was fairly easy other than trying to work out how to apply a gift voucher, but for the other I was trying to balance hotel availability with appropriate flights and car hire, with the flight websites timing out before I could get back and confirm; all very frustrating and time consuming, but I got there in the end. After all that we got out for a walk; not a long one but a different route from the one we normally take. On the way we passed this house; Bill Maslin used to live here. One of the few original village men, for many years he made his own fireworks and put on a spectacular display for the village every November, all at his own expense. His house used to be hidden behind a well stocked orchard but the developers have now moved in and cut all that down. The house will no doubt be next, and I understand the plan is for seven or eight modern houses on the site. I can't say it was ever a lovely house, but it will be a shame to see it go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.