PESTS

Got up early to watch the coverage of the Royal Wedding.  The endless chatter of the commentators about anything and everything got rather tedious and I couldn't wait for the actual ceremony.  I loved the dress, the bridesmaids and pageboys, Prince Charles walking Meghan down the aisle, how Meghan and Harry looked so in love, how Meghan smiled the whole time, the kiss - and the carriage ride through the crowds. So pleased that the weather was lovely.  It seemed like the perfect wedding.  Good luck to the happy couple.

Afterwards I did some jobs around the house and started on the ironing.  I intended watching the Cup Final while I ironed and I did watch some of it.  But I got bored and decided to watch something I had recorded instead.

Then I popped out into the back garden to water the plants. I had noticed a few days ago that the leaves on my lily plants were being nibbled.  I wondered why as in previous years they have been fine.  Anyway while I was watering the lilies I found the culprits - Lily Beetles.  Lovely things to look at - but devastating to lilies.

" Unchecked, lily beetles couple frantically and lay eggs you seldom see on the undersides of leaves. Dull orange grubs hatch, cover themselves with excreta to deter predators and feast on lily leaves and flowers."

I have sprayed them this evening and will keep an eye on my plants to see if any more of the pests turn up.

In other news Becky and Mike are in Dorset for the weekend.  Today they went clay pigeon shooting.  Well that's something different.

Steps today - 6,885

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.