TEXTURE

Went to Newcastle this afternoon for a hairdressers appointment. I went to a salon in Mosley Street. When I used to work in Newcastle I started going to this salon when it first opened in 1981.  It was owned by John and Surtees.  John used to do my hair back then.  When I walked in today the first person I saw was Surtees - still there after all these years.  Apparently John retired at Christmas.  I haven't been back there since I left work.

I had bought a Groupon deal for half a head of highlights in one colour plus a cut and blow dry.  I was  persuaded ( gently ) to get a full head of highlights in two colours - at an extra cost of course.  I thought I might as well " go the whole hog".  It took ages to do - so time consuming sectioning the hair, brushing the colours on and wrapping it up in tin foil.  I'm quite happy with the final result.  The colour is very nice.  Its too short - but I always think that when I get my hair done.  I will get used to it I'm sure.

After my appointment I walked up to Waitrose to do some shopping. I had a quick mooch around Eldon Square indoor shopping Centre.  Even though the weather was Ok there was a chill wind and I only had a light jacket on so I was feeling a bit cold outdoors.

While I was out I got a text from DPD to say that my parcel had been delivered and placed in my garage.  I had requested that they do this as I knew I would be out today when the driver was due.  As well as the text they sent a photo of the actual parcel in situ in my garage.  Great service - again - from DPD.  On the other hand I haven't  heard a dicky - bird from Yodel about the parcel they said they had delivered last week - but they hadn't.

Only one problem with the parcel in the garage - I can't budge it.  Too heavy for me to lift.  Hopefully the contents ( a new computer chair )  will be in manageable bits which I can carry individually.

The theme for Abstract Thursday today is " texture".  I took a shot of an old bit of wood which is rotting away in a corner of my garden.  Its resting beside a concrete wall and there is some moss in the shot as well as plant roots, dry leaves and a wood louse.  Plenty of different textures.  I have just left the shot as it is and resisted doing any processing. Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting

Styeps today - 8,479

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.