ALWAYS GOOD FOR A LAUGH!

We went up to Jack’s as usual this morning and met up with several friends - it was good to catch up with them, some of whom we hadn’t seen for a while.  Others are away on holiday, so we hope they have a great time and that the weather is kind to them.

It cannot be said that the weather was kind to Mr. HCB and his cricket buddy, Keith, yesterday.  Having arrived at the ground just after noon, thinking they would be watching a long day’s cricket, it was still raining so he rang me at about 1.45 to say there would be a pitch inspection at 2 p.m.  I didn’t hear anything else until about 3.45 when he said that there would be no play because the outfield was too wet and dangerous, so they would soon be making their way home.  So frustrating after all the lovely weather we have had recently, but as he said “This is England and we have to expect it!”  

As Mr. HCB needed more batteries for his hearing aids, we called into Leightons and saw the lovely Manager, Kate.  We both needed to make appointments for our next eye examination, so she invited us to sit down whilst she checked the computer for suitable dates.  When I got my phone out, Kate said that she had an idea she might be my Blip today.  I told her it was Silly Saturday, but I was in no way saying she was silly - which did make her smile but as my title says, Kate is always good for a laugh!

It is so refreshing to go somewhere where not only are you remembered (well who could forget us?) but where, if they haven’t seen you for sometime, they wonder if you are all right, which was what Kate told us when she hadn’t seen us for sometime after we  had returned from our Gold Wedding Trip.  We certainly get personal service and are always served with a smile, which is why I recommend friends to go there - and I get £25 every time if they do!  I think so far, in the last year, I have got £100 in John Lewis vouchers - the last one got me £25 off my new Dyson cleaner, so it’s well worth it.

I had been wandering around the local card shop and had taken a photograph of a lovely dog with doleful eyes, that I intended using for my Blip today - but changed my mind when I took the photographs of Kate.  However, I have put the dog pic in as an extra - as a shout out to “Mac the Lab”, the poorly labrador belonging to fellow Blipper, wws1968 and his family - I’m sure you can see the resemblance.  I hope the antibiotics are now working and that Mac will soon be completely well.

Hope you all have a lovely Bank Holiday weekend - the sun is out now, so let’s hope it continues to shine on us.

P.S.  The "90" badge on Kate's lapel doesn't mean she is 90 today, but recognises that Leightons has been open for business since 1928 - I'm sure that Oscar Leighton would be proud to see how the business has flourished since then. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.