a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Wee Evil

Tiny Tuesday: Wee Evil

On safari in the garden this evening I came across this chap, who is pretty terrifying when blown up to this sort of size...  

I am sure he's not a good thing to have in the garden if you are a Gardner, but live and let live is my motto, so now he's lumbered off to eat something he probably shouldn't be eating :-)

I've spent a little time comparing notes on the various UK weevil varieties and as a result I am pretty sure that this is not the common leaf weevil (its too big and the legs are slightly differently shaped).  I think that this might be Barynotus Moerens, but it could have been Barynotus Obscurus, or maybe Barynotus moerens, or even the rough strawberry root weevil (except we have no strawberries in the garden).  You get the picture, and I could go on... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.