The Portacabins

Back to work today. Lots to catch up on after two weeks away.

I thought I knew the Civic campus pretty well, I have worked here long enough. But a colleague showed me a little video on his phone this morning which astonished me.

The temporary portacabins in the image have been on site for decades. I have worked there myself in one of the many shifts around that I’ve experienced over the years. It’s hardly the most up to date of office environment’s, pretty basic in fact, but it hides a surprise.

Underneath lives a fox family. The video showed cubs peering through steel palisade fencing, and my colleague has seen the vixen on this mound as darkness falls, with the cubs playing around her. Extraordinary, and the staff who work above will be oblivious to the basement neighbours who call this place home,

So not a well composed, good photograph. But a record of one of the most interesting things I’ve learnt today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.