Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bit o' Honey

Thanks to everyone for all of your recent lovely comments and stars.  I've been trying to get around and am reading lots of journals but apologize for the dearth of comments.

These guys were really cute today.  They are Hooded orioles.  Last week I posted a similar photo but with the tiny Verdin.  This time of year is so much fun to watch the fledged birds still being taken after by their moms.  It's also pretty funny to watch them try to clumsily climb, cling and fly.  Sometimes I sit in my living room chair and am completely entertained as I watch through the sliding glass door.

There was a point when this female was feeding two of her offspring at once.  I missed the shot with both beaks open and moma doling out bits of orange. The extra shows all three.  The first youngster is trying to dig out some bits of fruit himself (Type A personality?) while mom looks on. His sibling is still poised to be fed. I wasn't sure which photo to use as the main shot - 'blipper's dilemma.'  (Maybe I'll trademark that phrase.) 

Thanks for letting me rant.   Deleted the weather rant.   

Hope you like the birds.  Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.