CORNED BEEF PIE - with a difference

I had corned beef pie for my tea.  The recipe has been all over Facebook recently on various Slimming  pages.  When I saw it I was a bit dubious as to whether I would like it. However when my slimming group had a taster night a couple of weeks ago Joanne made one and brought it in for us to try.  And it was OK.  So I made one myself today and it was a success.

You mix pease pudding with beaten egg. This is the pastry of your pie.  Then spread half of this mixture on the bottom of a pie dish.  Bake this in the oven for half an hour.  Mash up the potatoes with the chopped onion and corned beef.  Spread this mix on top of your baked pease pudding " pastry".  Then spread the other half of the pease pudding " pastry " over the top and bake for another 30 mins. The whole thing is only 3 syns - this is for the tin of corned beef.  You can see in my collage the ingredients and the end result.  I have tagged it for Silly Saturday as you might think its silly making fake pastry with pease pudding.  Thanks to admirer for hosting.

I went to Gateshead today.  Walked to Matalan which is a little way out of town.  Had a good mooch around the large clearance  section and made a few purchases. Then to Iceland and Tesco.

The weather today was dull, hot and humid.  No sunshine at all.  And then this evening we have had heavy rain.  At least its freshened everything up.

Today 6 years ago I got my two kitties Tino and Lily.  Life certainly hasn't been dull since then.  They are infuriating, naughty, affectionate, funny, lively and good company. I have put a photo of them in my Extras.

Steps today -11,733

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.