Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise over Wilton Windmill

After a lovely evening with cousins, celebrating a 25th Wedding Anniversary, I managed to find myself heading out before sunrise towards Wilton Windmill in Wiltshire.  At this time of year it is rare for me to be up in time for sunrise and it probably wouldn't have happened but the curtains of the property we were staying in were thin, to put it mildly!

I'd already scouted this location before heading up to the mill, but as I was coming away I decided to stop again and try a long distance view, complete with sun and mist in the valley in between.   This required 3 stops of filtration on the sky and the sun is still blown out.  The original colour of the scene in the image file was almost monochrome, but I was chuffed with what I could recover using Lightroom's selective adjustment tools.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.