Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Going for The Southwestern Look

I've been looking at tiled tables for my little alcove for years and finally splurged for one at the country fair last weekend. It's wrought iron and very heavy.

Then I noticed a display of very pretty and exotic cactus arrangements. I didn't realize they weren't real until I asked if they needed direct sunlight and she pointed to the sign that said "all artificial."

There is virtually nothing in my home decor that suggests I live in the desert southwest. In my living room, everything on the wall is black and white - and mostly Ansel Adams photography.

The table and cactus are now under the shadow of the not-so-southwestern-style silk Ficus tree that came with me from Maryland.

Eventually, the inside of the house will look as much as the outside does, as part of the Arizona landscape.

I may have to get rid of the Ficus tree, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.