Hanging Around

On the way to my meeting this morning I noticed these two removing a banner (the Manchester Together one I think). By the time I returned another had gone up, advertising Manchester Day on the 17th.

On my return I got into conversation with a chap who was surveying the St Peters Square side of the town hall with binoculars. He was looking for black redstarts.

Robin like, I know they do breed in the City Centre, but I have never seen them. Best chance would be very early Sunday morning in the breeding season when they are singing. It’s not a loud song, so no traffic or other noise would be good. I’ve seen plenty on the continent, but they are very rare in the UK. They first appeared after 1945, on bomb sites - they remain a bird of gritty urban places here, whereas elsewhere in Europe they seem to like attractive villages and little towns, as well as the countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.