Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My brain is wired differently. When you’ve got bipolar disorder, you’ve got a bipolar brain. There isn't anything wrong with having a bipolar brain; in fact actually just the opposite.

We’re able to grasp seemingly paradoxical ideas; think laterally; connect the dots between antithetical concepts. Researchers suggest we should think of the strengths that are intrinsic to the disorder such as creativity, academic ability; openness to new ideas and (again) lateral thinking.

This doesn’t mean the disorder doesn’t sometimes wreak havoc in a person’s life. It often does. It certainly did/does in mine. But too often the focus is on only ‘misery stats/symptoms’.

My beautiful bipolar brain often gives me an edge over others in certain areas at certain times. In my mildly hypo-manic phases, I’m more intuitive, I have the energy to do things and the focus to complete them.

So my BBB (beautiful bipolar brain) is something that I cherish. It is part of what makes me, me.

...along with the grey hair.

Laurie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.