Biking To Town

THANK YOU for all your visits, starts, and faves yesterday!  Simply put, I have been pleasantly overwhelmed by it all.  You guys are unbelievable!

A really lazy Saturday.  Last night's laundry was already dry, dishes done, and yesterday I had cleaned upstairs and AW downstairs, and I'm finally 95% updated with my work.  What a tiring and stressful week it has been.  I had thought of yet another day trip to Germany but the weather forecast for the towns I had in mind wasn't promising, so I considered a drive to the east, actually close to the border, but then I just admitted to myself that I was too done up to enjoy it.  Instead, napped a bit, attended to some of the genealogy info, and then AW and I biked to town after dinner.  We didn't have any particular stop in mind, although we did pass by the homeopathic coffee shop, but AW was inside only for about two minutes at most, and then he wanted to look for the location where the Breda Monday bridge club was going to move after the summer, and we found it.  Our feet got cramps as the temperature cooled, so we decided to return home.  Altogether, we were gone for two solid hours.

Shot on the bridge leading away from the Adriaan van Bergenstraat.  The weather was so good that all the terraces on all the streets were filled and everyone was enjoying the evening air.  What a cozy town we live in.

On the way back home, we were cycling along a row of gardens and people were clearly outside in their backyards, even though we couldn't see them due to the hedges, as their voices floated across the cycling paths, and I suddenly had a familiar feeling.  It was such a warm and cozy feeling and I knew this wasn't the first time I'd felt it.  I decided right then and there to search deep in my memory for the first time I'd experienced it and I realized that it wasn't a conscious memory.  I cannot associate one single moment in the past with it, so I think that it is a memory of a feeling and not a memory of a happening, and that the very first time I felt it was when I was still too young to describe it with words.  There must have been a brief moment when I was very young, possibly before I moved into the house in Manila, when I felt comfortable and warm and at ease.  I can't connect it with anything solid.  The feeling is all that is left.  I wish I could remember what brought it on, but that is too far back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.