Miron Zownir

I was up at 10 am and felt unexpectedly well. Pain was not too bad.
I caught up with some photos and Neil surfaced at about 1 pm.

We went out and walked over the flea market and then had a coffee at Conni Island, the cafe I found in February, with the most amazing home baking.
It was far too hot to eat anything, but the coffees were nice. Conni the owner is a lovely woman and it is like being in her house. She chats with everyone and it seems most of her guests are friends.

We then did some shopping at the market hall. Neil is always well remembered due to his kilt and has a wee fan at the butchers.

We dropped the groceries in the house and went out again. Neil needed a shave and wanted to get some lightweight informal top. We browsed through some shops and second hand shops. 
It was very hot!
Neil found a nice shirt and I bought a denim skirt and a t-shirt for 7.50 EUR in one of the second hand places.

We dropped into "Frau Behrens Torten" Cafe for another coffee in the sun. They have very exciting cakes, but I was still not hungry. I looked at the cakes and talked to the owner. They now also do gluten free cakes, which is nice.
I promised him that I will eat myself through his assortment of cakes in the next few weeks, when I am hungry again.
He spontaneous  picked a mini raspberry tartlet out of the display and gave it to me. This was really nice and unexpected. I had no other chance then eating it. It was lovely.

We sat a while in the sun then walked back home.
We wanted to go out and see friends in the night at a party in Alrt Mariendorf and planned to leave at 9 pm.
At home I thought I would lie down for a bit while Neil was getting a crate of water.
When he was back and I got up my pain had badly returned.
I took painkillers and we made our way to the party.
I hoped the painkillers would kick in, but they didn’t.
I was very stationary at the party and struggled. I was glad when we went home again and I could go to bed.

I took more painkillers and hoped the best for tomorrow. I have a doctor’s appointment on Monday morning!

I am blipping a photo that caught my eye when I was browsing the flea market.

I talked to the woman selling them and she told me they were all taken by a photographer called Miron Zownir.

She had organised exhibitions of his work in the past, and those prints were some remainders. 

The images were quite striking and reminded me in many ways of Mapplethorp.
I thought I would take one home, but she wanted over 200 Euro for one of the prints …. So I resisted!

I looked the photographer up later and found this.
I wonder if anyone really pays such an amount for a photographic print…… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.