TINY TUESDAY - TWO OF MY FAVOURITE THINGS

I have spent far too much time this morning trying to get a decent shot of a ring of which I am particularly fond, but just couldn’t seem to get it right - and I almost got to the point of crying with frustration and once again wondered why I had spent a lot of money on this camera and lens when I could just take a quick shot with my iPhone.  Does anyone else feel like that sometimes or is it just me being impatient?

Our very kind neighbour, Mike, mended my tripod yesterday so I was able to use it today.  I put the camera on Manual and was playing around with different settings but got all hot and bothered so decided to go and have a shower to cool off my body and brain!  

I came back downstairs, gave myself a good talking to and then decided that I would try something else.  I looked in my jewellery box and found a small locket that was a gift from our two sons when they were about 16 and 14 years old, and which, of course, is very precious to me.  However, I have resisted the urge to show the photographs of them that are inside the locket - I don't think they would be that pleased!  I was reasonably happy with this shot, so here for Tiny Tuesday, is one of my favourite things - cue for a song there - so perhaps I should sing and not cry!

I will put the ring in as an extra - and there is a story behind this.  Mr. HCB bought it for me in Barnard Castle in the summer before I was 40 but as it was to be a birthday present and my birthday wasn’t until Boxing Day, I wasn’t allowed to have it until the actual day.  

I was in the library one day and was wearing the ring, consisting of five almandine garnets, but happened to notice when I took my books to be stamped, that the middle stone was missing.  After a search of all the places I had been, I couldn’t find it, so was quite upset.  However, when I lifted one of the books out of my bag, I saw the garnet sitting on top of one of the books.  How fortunate was that?  When I took it to a local jeweller to be reset, they had to put claws to hold it in, instead of the original setting, but it still looks good and I was so grateful to find the stone.

“Many of life’s failures
     are people who did not realise
          how close they were to success
               when they gave up.”
Thomas A Edison : 1847-1931

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's MM shot - which is on page 2 of the Popular Page - there is more excitement to come - so watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.