A Bird's-Eye View of Art in the Gardens

This summer, our local Arboretum is featuring some unusual pieces of art. They are colorful plastic sculptures that are related to the Plastic Entanglements exhibit currently on view at the Palmer Museum of Art, on campus.

I have had the opportunity to visit the Palmer exhibit, and you may view  a photo of several sculptures in the Extras of my March 20 blip). It was an eye-opening look into the ways in which plastic has taken over our world, our waters, and our ecosystems.

I have often enjoyed the beautiful light that breaks through the poplar grove at the Arboretum, which is especially lovely in the mornings (as seen here and here). On this particular, morning, though, something more was there to cast new shadows on the green lawn.

There are three blue and white twisty things standing upright in the middle of the poplars. They seemed very colorful and fun and almost Seussian to me. And so I walked closer to get a better look. (It turns out, by the way, that the blue and white things are made out of pieces of industrial waste barrels.)

It was then that I noticed a robin standing on the bench in front of the art work, as though it were trying to make up its mind what it thought of it all. I amused myself by trying to imagine what that might be. "I don't know Art, but I know what I like," perhaps?  :-)

So here is my photo of a robin contemplating art. The soundtrack has to be a song about art, so here is Paul McCartney and Wings with an acoustic version of Picasso's Last Words (Drink to Me)/Richard Cory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.