Washing Windows, Then and Now

Dear Diary,

Our weather has turned perfect again and when Matt came I decided it was time to wash the windows on the porch.  Washing windows, for me, is a two person sport and I manned the inside while Matt did the ladder thing outside.  We accomplished the task in record time.

I just had to do a collage this morning which shows my brother and I on a home-made ladder washing windows in 1956.  Well, I think it was my brother who was doing the outside, or at least pretending to.  I suspect my father thought this would make a good photograph although I cringe at the sight of me on that ladder.  I am not good with heights.  My mom or grandmother was probably doing the inside work.

Sixty two years is a long time and so much has changed.  Back then it was squares of newspaper and vinegar water; now, it is Windex and paper towels.  I remember helping my mother cut up the newspapers for the yearly chore of window washing.  Soft rags would dry the windows and it was quite a feat to get a window with no streaks.

Now, the porch shines with lovely sunlight streaming through sparkling clean windows.  Such a great feeling.  After all the inside and outside work this week I plan to take the weekend off.  Emerson and I will enjoy our porch(me with a book and Emerson with a nap) and I will again give thanks for my "posse"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.