Mild angina

Back at the end of October, when we were in Malta/ Gozo, I found I had to take occasional rest-breaks, especially while climbing Valletta's many steep steps. I was suffering from tightness across the chest and shortness of breath, and really felt quite uncomfortable at times. I promised myself that I'd go to see the doctor as soon as I got back, but instead of that I've been putting it off and putting it off, and it was only today ('Where have you been for the past three months?', the doctor asked) that I finally went to see my doctor. He listened to my description of the symptoms, nodded knowingly when I told him it'd all got worse, that I couldn't now even walk the length of Grafton Street without stopping and even found going up or down the stairs at home bringing on the pain, took my blood pressure, made out a prescription, wrote a note for me to hand in at the appointments desk at Beaumont Hospital, and told me his receptionist would give me a receipt on the way out.

60 euro worse off, and having heard him confirm my own suspicion that I have mild angina ('Nothing to worry about, really. It's very mild, your blood pressure is fine, you're not going to have a heart attack or anything.'). He's referred me to a cardiologist, so now I wait for word from him of when he can fit me in. In the mean time the tablets which the doc has prescribed are to relieve the symptoms, and I have to take one every morning until further notice. I picked up the tablets immediately, and went up to the hospital to drop in the doctor's note. All I needed to do was that -- drop off a note -- but there didn't seem to be any arrangement for short-term parking and I had to go into the multi-storey and pay 2 euro 60 or whatever just for the ten minutes I was there.

I have to admit to being a bit worried. I know the doc said I don't need to be, but still ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.