Morning snooze

Actually, I think I will be a bit of a Morning Snoozer tomorrow. I feel as if I deserve it. After yesterday's good news from the dietician, I was up bright and early (well, 7.00 am) to get my act together before making my way back to Beaumont Hospital (that's three out of the last five days that I've been there), this time for my 8.30 stress test appointment, the result of which will decide if I get a place in a cardiac rehabilitation group.

The whole business was over within an hour. The test itself consisted of being connected up to a machine which recorded vital signs while I spent five minutes on a treadmill machine. 'Just move your legs as if you're walking', the nurses told me. All very well saying that, but being on one of these things is absolutely nothing like walking in reality. I was getting into the swing of things by the time the machine was turned off, so perhaps I'd get used to it in time. The read-out goes to the cardiac team for assessment, pending which I've been assigned a place in a programme which begins on 22nd February (an hour a day, three days a week, ten weeks).

After the physical test it was on for a psychological evaluation! I must admit to being very skeptical about this whole psychological business, though I actually quite enjoyed the relaxed chat I had with whatever-her-name is. She gave me a sheaf of pages filled with questionnaires which I have to complete and bring back with me on the 22nd, and we spent five minutes or so on another questionnaire which is supposed to indicate what my overall mood is like (apparently I'm normal, not depressed).

I'd done a little bit of work on a long-put-off job for an ex-colleague from work, and returned to that when I got back home. I'd promised him yesterday that there'd be something in his inbox today in the form of a draft design proposal for a promotional brochure he wants done, and I was determined to meet this self-imposed deadline, since I hadn't met previous should-have-it-for-you promises since Christmas. The reason for the procrastination was that I simply couldn't come up with any ideas up until now. As usual, working to a deadline forced me to come up with something, I worked it all out reasonably well, and I ended up at 3.00 pm sending him off a proposal which I was quite happy with.

So that's all why I've decided I deserve a lie-on tomorrow morning. The alarm will not be set. I hope to fall asleep as soon as head hits pillow. A nice bit of peaceful, uninterrupted sleep will go down well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.