Cyclist

Everyone seemed to be up bright and early – perhaps rather too early for my liking.  However, eventually breakfast was calling, so we three joined everyone else.  After breakfast we chose our activities for the morning.  TT and I chose kayaking and BB chose paddle boarding.  It rained a bit, but thankfully never too heavy.  The kayaking ended up mostly about playing games, which exposed my lack of competitiveness, and my fear of capsizing!  Thankfully I didn’t capsize, but others did.

We all met back together for lunch and the rain came on heavy.  We three chose mountain biking for our afternoon activity.  We were accompanied by two others and  an instructor and set off in the rain.  The first bit was all uphill and I think it was too soon after lunch as I really struggled to get going.   We then descended into Killin and then headed out along the railway track (where we saw a red squirrel) and then up a hill. The sun came out as we got near the top and the mist started to rise.  The gears on my bike were a bit dodgy, which was quite frustrating.  It didn’t take long to descend.  BB and TT loved the fast descents.  I am rather more wary than them – fearful that I would lose control of my bike and come a cropper.  We then cycled back to our base, along the road.  TT was in a daydream and cycled right into me.  I didn’t fall off, but my leg is very bruised!

Tea and cakes were a welcome sight when we got back.  We then had time to potter before dinner and then we rounded of the evening with a ceilidh and a few games.

Here is BB disappearing into the mist, the fast descent is just in front of him.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.