Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

A Literary Evening

My old school friend C asked me if I'd like to accompany her to a meeting of the Muriel Spark Society.  This being Dame M's centenary year, all sorts of celebratory events are taking place in Edinburgh.

The venue was in the sale room of auctioneers Lyon and Turnbull - not the sort of place I'd normally haunt.  I love auctions but the prices here are well out of my league. 

Whether it was the surroundings, the free booze or the Edinburgh literatti overwhelming me with their august presences, I failed to get a decent shot, but here it is as a reminder of a very interesting evening.

I had been in this room before. It used to be a church, and in my days as a Girl Guide I attended a service here along with hundreds of other little girls. It was a lot gloomier back then.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.