Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The lost is found (or the misplaced is placed!)

Just when I was going for a shower this morning, all the electricity went off. Our mains switch was still on, so nothing has tripped the connection. I contacted Northern Power Grid and was the first caller to do so. That meant that I had to do things like switch off and switch on again - no good. Then I had to go outside to check the meter - yes, I was just ready to go into the shower and yes, it was raining. I don't have a key for the meter, so it was a waste of time.

By the time I'd done this, other people had called in the fault. One very good thing was that we are now on a priority list, so that if I'm not around Mum would be given extra support in a long outage.

I had planned to work at the computer this morning, so that made for a change of plans. Actually, just how dependent we all are on electricity. I have a 'phone that is not, but could not contact neighbours who have no "old fashioned" 'phones any more.

Margret (next door) appeared with a flask of hot water, heated on her camping stove. I was able to give Mum hot coffee for breakfast. Then we remembered that we had a stove ourselves - one of those quick purchases at Aldi, "just in case".  It was easy to set up and worked perfectly. I then had coffee (I was gasping.)

The power came on before lunchtime - probably a bird strike. We had a 'phone call to check we were OK. Great service.

I made Arth and Aggie do 15 mins on the exercise bike. Arth hated it, but I'm determined to make my muscles strong before surgery.

Liz called after their holiday, but had to leave quickly because Nick was out and had not taken a key.

I often photograph or scan Mum's paintings and make greetings cards for her to send. Ages ago (aeons it seems) she gave me the Girl on the Swing. Before I acted, the painting disappeared. Eventually, today, I found it. I've made some cards as you see. The colour control needs improving but I think they will be fine. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.