Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Can I keep up?

Today started quite early. I was drinking tea, (and not really awake), at 0700 when the 'phone rang. I tried to wake quickly.

It was my cousin Margaret and husband, Peter, in Australia. They thought it was 0900 with us! We had a long, long chat. Peter has been very ill and is not long out of hospital, but is hoping for a second round soon with a much needed hip replacement.

I knew the carpet fitter was arriving at 0900, so when the phone rang, on the dot, I thought he was asking for directions. It was the shop to say he would come later in the day. The panic in my voice must have been easy to pick up; we had the first slot of the day because a hospital bed was to arrive between 1000 and 1200. The carpet fitter was instructed to leave the job he had started and come to us asap. He had finished laying the carpet about 10 minutes before the bed arrived. Phew!

Here you see the bed begin assembled. It took about 10 minutes. It's in three sections and Mum will have great fun changing positions.

I had a quick run to the tip with a car load of carpet - the fitters don't take it away. What fun struggling with rolls of carpet and throwing them into the abyss that is the rubbish part of the tip, with the wind whipping dust into my eyes and hair. Yuck!

Margret came, then Sara to say she could not clean for us today but would come tomorrow. I began to feel that my flexibility was running out. I had plans for what we would do together when she came. Take a deep breath and wait for the next caller, who was Gemma, the OT. She had to check the bed before Mum can use it. All signed off OK.

I spent some time moving things back into Mum's lounge, including the incumbent herself. The lounge looks lovely if bare.

Any more visitors? Only Dick and Angus to do the garden and Ian (from up the hill) who came to move furniture for me. He is very strong so lifted the chests of drawers unaided. 

Tomorrow -

I'm

having



day 

off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.