Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sparkling grasses

Not long ago this verge was full of white, frothy flowers of Queen Anne's Lace. Now the grasses of summer have taken over.

I walked near Chipchase Castle today. The first two miles were by the riverside in an area that is all prepared for fishermen to come, if they have paid the Chipchase Estate for the privilege. (You are not even allowed to sit on the benches. They are for fishermen only.)

It's lovely down there and I met no one. I did a circuit back along the old railway line. There are so many nettles now that it was a bit of an ordeal. At one point the cleavers had tied themselves around my ankles; I looked as though I was in chains!!

I came home, made soup, ate some, gave Mum her lunch, then I promptly fell asleep in my chair. I must be getting old. 

Julie came late afternoon and we walked "around the block" in the cooler early evening.

It's been a lovely day.

PS If you are able to enlarge the photo, you will see some tiny "blotches". I went to edit these out until I saw they were flying insects and in focus!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.