Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A perfect midsummer's day

I won't mention the start to the day until the end of this commentary.

I went to Newcastle for a trip on the River Tyne with the Vieux Carré Jazz Men. Here they are leading a procession towards the embarkation point. A few people, including me, had parasols to carry. I had to ask someone I didn't know to carry mine, because I could not manage to hold it and take photographs!

The band played on board. The weather was perfect for the trip and we were not cold, even on the open deck. At North Shields, Maxine had put bunting along her fence so we could see her house.

There was a buffet - too much pastry and stodge for me but it filled a gap.

Maureen and Brian completed on their house sale yesterday so we celebrated with Prosecco.

Our group was Maureen and Brian, Al and Ann, Marjorie (the other one) and Pauline, Julie and me. We also acquired two old friend of Julie's. We had a great time.

I was home in time for a cuppa before dashing out to the Hexham Rotray fundraiser at the Forum Cinema. One of the original Calendar Girls spoke - very funny indeed - and then we watched the film. I had my evening meal at 1030 tonight!

Now the rant: yesterday new carpet and a new bed were put in Mum's bedroom. Once I started to put boxes into her wardrobe, I noticed bits of plaster on the top shelf. These had been dislodged when I closed the doors. Investigations showed that there is a ledge, high up inside the wardrobe, that was covered with lumps of plaster and plaster dust from when the ceiling was taken down after the leak. It would have been relatively easy to clean this before the shelves were put in. Now is requires contortions. There is plaster dust everywhere in  a room that was nearly ready for its resident to move back.


I'm very fed up with the insurers whose work had been poor. The rail in the wardrobe is not attached at all the points it should be either. I've sent for the work foreman who is coming on Monday. Oh joy!


In the greater scheme of things............


It is still dusk and the sky is dark blue with a yellow streak across the horizon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.