Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Did Heath Robinson ever use baked bean tins?

I was up bright and early to start preparing the upstairs lounge for decorating. As I stood at the sink running water, I suddenly found that my feet were wet. Indeed I was standing in a large puddle emanating from inside the under-sink cupboard. When I opened it, I discovered that the pipe had come apart at the u-bend and water was gushing down.

I grabbed a large towel and then tried to remove the kick board to mop up the water under the cupboard. That took too long. I managed to remove it and broke it in the process, but the water had gone through the floor and into the wardrobe below.

Does any of this sound reminiscent?

My neighbour, Ian, responded to my urgent email and came. He put the pipe back together and supported it with the baked beans and a small chopping board. Phew!

Later in the morning, the kitchen fitter came, full of apologies, and made a proper job of it.

It doesn't look like Mum will be back in her bedroom for a few more days.

I spent ages washing out the wardrobe again to try to get rid of all the dust from the plaster rubble that was left inside. 

Finally, I had a shower............!!

This evening, Julie and I went to see The Cheviot, The Stag and The  Black, Black Oil at the Live Theatre. It's a lively production and remains pertinent nearly 40 years after it was first performed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.