Silver Washed

Went tootling off on a woodland expedition trying to see and photograph a butterfly that I hadn't got already to add to my collection.


This is a Silver-washed fritillary with her wingspan being about 76mm so quite big. One of the largest Fritillaries and I think rather grand and beautiful especially in flight which is elegant and powerful. It lives in woodland with usually the egg being laid up a tree trunk with violets underneath. The caterpillar hibernates then descends to feed in the spring. 

The Black Hairstreak which I was on a mission to get, see Extra, proved difficult in that it was very very elusive; distant and skittish but at least it ticked the box and was not altogether a fruitless car journey of an hour and a half to find it. It was a first for me but I would have liked to have got nearer.

High up in the canopy I caught sight of grey wings and patiently waiting for it to turn round took some shots. My first Purple Hairstreak!  

To add to this I was awash with Large Skippers, beautiful White Admirals, Marbled Whites and Meadow Browns to name just a few. Fabulous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.