Fathers' Day

I feel oddly self-conscious on Fathers' Day*; I'm not sure I completely enjoy being the focus of attention. On the other hand, it does mean that I get to see most of my favourite people (the exception being Izzy, who is working in Jordan).

Dan and Abi came up for lunch, Charlie, Milly, and Hannah were already here, and the Minx and miniMinx came up after the miniMinx's audition at Ludus in Lancaster. We had what we refer to as 'sandwiches and crisps' for lunch: crisps (obvs), bread, pâté, hummus, carrots, pork pie, smoked salmon, sun-dried tomatoes, peanut butter, dips, all that kind of stuff. It was tremendous.

And after we'd eaten, we had cards and presents, which was was lovely. This is the first year that the miniMinx has given me a card and I was really, really touched. In fact, I was going to write this blog about our relationship over the last (nearly) six years and how much I have grown to love her. But then I thought that maybe that's not 100% percent my business to write about. 

*I'm not saying I've brought up my kids perfectly but they were all dubious about the card industry's accepted wisdom of the apostrophe should go.

****
-13.9 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'The Underground Railroad'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.