The Marella Discovery

I needed to post a letter before 11.30am so I headed off down to the post box in the village in good time.  As I was making an early start ( for me ) I decided to make the most of the day and head for the seaside.  Got the bus to Gateshead and then the Metro to South Shields.  Its great to live so close to the coast.

First of all I had a look around the Museum and Art Gallery.  Its a great place - well worth a visit.  I have put a few shots from there in a collage in my Extras.  There's an old poster advertising South Shields as a holiday resort, three beautiful stained glass windows, a miners banner and some miners lamps.

Then I started walking along Ocean Road towards the sea front.  Then I walked to the end of South Pier. ( see it in my Extras ). Loads of fishermen on the pier - I have put a photo of one in my Extra collage.  Also in the collage is a view of Tynemouth Priory across the mouth of the Tyne.

The weather was Ok today - a bit chilly at the coast but dry and bright and fine for walking.  There were some brave families having picnics on the beach and some children having a paddle.

I wanted a seaside treat - so was it to be fish and chips or an ice cream?  I chose the lesser of two evils and bought a 99 cornet in Minchellas.  It was lovely. The Minchella family have been making ice cream since 1942.

After shopping in Morrisons I headed for the mouth of the Tyne to see if there were any ships berthed there.  I found the Marella Discovery.  She has just returned today from a 14 day round trip cruise to Norway. A sailing ship was passing so thats in my collage .

I have tagged my blip for Silly Saturday as when I uploaded the photo I spotted the young lad at the front - and it seems to me as though he is patting an imaginary dog ( I have no idea what he is actually doing )  Thanks to admirer for hosting.

I almost blipped THIS SHOT but wasn't sure about copyright issues as its a painting which is being exhibited in the Art Gallery.  ( and there's rude bits ).  So I have put it on Flickr.

So I had a really nice time in South Shields.  Its where my Mam was born so when I was little we always went there if we were having a trip to the coast.  Happy memories.

Steps today - 15,002

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.