Big Beetles

Very excited to find two big beetles that I have never seen or photographed before when Ollie and I went for a walk on our usual route around our property after lunch.

The first was by the northerly boiler house on hogweed near lots of wild rose bushes. (Extras) I recognised it as a chafer, I now know it's a rose chafer. A large and very impressive insect. It seemed quite ponderous when I was photographing it but I was amazed when it whizzed suddenly into the air.

The second was a variable longhorn beetle, again on hogweed. Much bigger than the yellow and black Rutpela maculata longhorns that I have been caputring a lot recently.  As the name indicates, the colouring of these beetles is highly variable. They really are ponderous. Mine fell off the flower into the undergrowth.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.