Feedback

So I got some feedback from my tutor and it wasn't the best news...looks like a lot of reorganisation will be required but I have a plan at least- feel frustrated, miffed and a bit sad about it...all good natural emotions to be embraced given the circumstances I reckon...onwards and upwards.

In other news today I learned something new. I was shown how to do an "awkward turtle" and decided to blip this for today's blip to be honest this was a lot of hassle and I had to get my gorilla pod out after a failed attempt at holding the camera, on timer in my mouth. I also had to double check on the internet that this was not something rude. It's a trend sweeping some teenagers in certain areas of the UK at the moment and appears to have it's origins in New York. This is a rushed job and I have just had a hot bath so my fingers look fat and uncoordinated but you basically do the pose a little more neatly than me and then circle your thumbs in time to each other in a forward motion.

Taken from the Urban Dictionary:

During an awkward moment, this hand gesture is used to mark the situation as awkward, and, depending on the situation, makes it more awkward or clears the air. The awkward turtle is made by putting one hand on top of the other with the thumbs sticking outward and rotating forward. The speed of the rotating thumbs depends on the degree of awkwardness.
Boy- "I love you."
Girl- "Um...that's cool..."
Boy- *AWKWARD TURTLE*

However, there is another meaning:

In real American Sign Language. It means Platypus.
Friend making Awkward Turtle sign.
Friend who knows better: "Platypus?"

Sadly I didn't know the sign when I received my slightly un-glowing feedback from my tutor via email today....If I had I would have done the awkward turtle sign to myself...just to teach me to try harder!

And....if you are still reading this....this far in....why???? You may want to know that turning your hands so the palms face up...created....well...... "A very awkward turtle".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.