Lang Jack

Fitness Class as usual this afternoon - not many there this week.  Maybe the hot weather kept people away. Did a bit of shopping afterwards and I sat outside in the sunshine when I got home.

After a cooling shower I walked down to my Slimming Group.  Put on 1½ pounds since the last time I was weighed there.  However I did gain almost half a stone during my birthday week so I'm pleased to have managed to get most of that off.  Just out of my target range but hopefully will be back in by next week.  It was great to see two former members back in group.  They stopped going last year and have put loads of weight back on so I'm glad they have decided to return. 

The Mono Monday challenge theme today is Power. I had my blip shot taken before I left the house this afternoon but on reflection I realised that it was just a  " Boring Blip Of Some Batteries ".

When I was in Fitness Class gazing at the painted mural on the wall I thought this image of Lang Jack would be a better idea.

Jack English - known as Lang Jack because he was 6' 4" tall - was a well known local man. Born in 1800 he was a man of enormous strength.  He was a stonemason involved in the building of Newcastle Gaol and various bridges in the area. He built his own cottage on the outskirts of the village dragging the stones from a quarry a mile away - the chimney pots alone weighed 12 stones.  A physically powerful man. He was a bit of a handful when he was drunk as he enjoyed jumping up and down and his head often made a hole in the ceiling and one time he went through a wooden floor into the cellar.  He was well liked and when he died a statue was erected outside his house.  The house was later destroyed by fire and the statue was moved to the centre of the village where it stands today. I have blipped the statue previously - see it HERE .  So that's my take on the POWER theme - thanks to laurie54 for hosting.


Steps today 15,288

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.