Journey Through Time

By Sue

We Are Family...

...my brothers, sisters and me. Looks like a family grouping to me, hence the title.

I spotted these at the end of our street from the car and I made a mental note of it. Return with camera! So I did. I had to look them up as I don't know much about wild mushrooms. These are Coprinus Comatus or Shaggy Mane mushrooms and they are edible. They have a short life span and should be picked when they are young. They will be mush in just a day or two. I've never seen these growing in the yards, I've only seen the other ones that look more like traditional capped mushrooms. But I noticed that our neighbor had them in his grass. I thought they looked very interesting and was surprised to find that one could make some mushroom soup out of these babies.

Bill and I went for a walk earlier today and it was really nice out. The sun was out and it became quite pleasantly warm. Then the clouds grew thicker and it was noticeably cooler in a matter of minutes. We went on an errand and I also was able to pick up my library book. Gotta have something fun to read.

Glad the election stuff is over with. Now if they'd just pass a law that there will be no campaigning for the next election until 3 years have passed. Not allowed. And if somebody would tell Donald Trump to put a sock in it, I would like that too.

And I'll leave you with this quote from Will Rogers (1879-1935), one of America's most famous and beloved humorists, since our election is finally over with. And this just shows that this election is probably no different than any other in many respects. Hope your day is going well. Catch ya later.

So cheer up. Let's all be friends again. One of the evils of democracy is you have to put up with the man you elect whether you want him or not. That's why we call it democracy."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.