Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Meadow cranesbill

Geranium pratense

And the mauve pink flower in the background and in extras is sainfoin or onobrychis vicifolia.

Yes, this was my morning, on my knees with the wildflowers.  Until I started this project, I hadn't realised quite how many flowers we grow in our gardens are essentially the same as the wildies.  I have a cranesbill growing at the base of my Gertrude Jekyll rose that looks exactly like this.  Beautiful!

I think what I liked best about the shot is it's untidiness - the mad scribble of stems and colours.  Sometimes I go for shots that are very clean, like the extra, just a flowerhead against the sky, but when you get down to it, a wildflower meadow is a tangle.  I think that's what this shows.

Thanks so much to all of your who have entered WFW03 so far  :)

The only other thing about today was a long lunch and gossip session with a friend in rather hot shade down at the Good Life.

Have a happy evening, all  xx

A list of my blipped 2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag; Dandelion;  Common vetch; Dog rose;  Green alkanet;
JUNE
Bramble;  Stinking iris;  Dropwort;  Meadow buttercup; Sweet briar;  Red campion;  Butterfly orchid;  Poppies;  Nettle;  Birdsfoot trefoil;  Meadow cranesbill;  Sainfoin;



Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.