Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

On top of Gebbies Pass

I love the rolling hills of Gebbies Pass, especially at sunset. It's a road I drive quite a bit, after all it separates my folks' place and ours (well, Mt Herbert does technically, but I'm not traversing that for sunday lunch).

The view tonight was stunning, particularly over Lake Ellesmere/Te Waihora. In fact it was one of those nights that you wonder if your blip will do it justice. I'll have to let you, the viewers, decide on that.

One thing that always stands out for me on the hill at the end of Gebbies Valley is the wind turbine, seen here at the far left. I know it doesn't throw out a huge amount of electricity, isn't always operational due to extreme winds (I'm not kidding) and also has its detractors (including some locals that decry the noise it makes) but I love it when it's in full flight. There's a certain functional grace to it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.