The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Joy

Another trip to London. As I left Westminster Tube Station and walked past the Palace of Westminster, the light was perfect, even at midday the sun is low and casting long shadows. Luckily I had a few minutes before I had to confine myself to a windowless meeting room in one of the Government buildings. So this was taken in the sunshine, with the Buxton Memorial casting a pointy shadow, Victoria Tower dominating the view, and with avenues of plane trees. The bonus was the little group of visitors jumping for joy and photographs. As it happened, when I came out of the meeting, the sky was clouded over and the light was dulled.

On the way down I saw the hay castle again, it's a couple of miles north of Tamworth on the eastern side of the line. I did grab a shot of it on the way back, in the half dark, ISO 2000 and 1/20th of a second. Not up to blipping standard, but I have another chance in a couple of weeks time when I next travel south. My colleague A said to me she thought it was more of a cathedral than a fairy castle as I had fantasised. Indeed, that is what it is, a replica of Lichfield Cathedral built to scale from straw by farmer Rob Gray and friends on his land. See link.. The photo on the link is much better than I could get from the train window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.