The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Road to nowhere

The Lyth Valley was full of fog early this morning, it tends to linger here longer than on our side of the Kent estuary. Yesterday I collected a package, and this morning I was keen to try out the contents. This is the first blip from it, though back in the Summer Steve kindly loaned me one to photograph Burrow Mump in Somerset.

I had a bit of a false start as I had done my usual thing of forgetting to reset the camera, and I had reeled off a lot of shots of the sun rising above the mist on an impossibly high ISO. I like to think that one day I will actually think about what I am doing rather than reflexively reaching for the camera.

This afternoon I went for a walk out to Blackstone Point again. I saw the clouds piling in from the Lake District, but optimistically thought they might just blow through in time for a spectacular sunset. The heavens opened when I was at the furthest point from home, and for the sake of the camera I spent the next hour sheltering under a yew tree. There never was a sunset.

Listening to Saturday Live on R4 this morning, I learned about the ultimate 1 photo a day project. This pre-dates Blipfoto by about 13 years. It was the story of a father who took a photograph of his son amost every day for 21 years from the day he was born, and the resulting time lapse video has had nearly 5 million hits on Youtube. It's compelling watching if you have 5 minutes to watch Cory grow from new born to young man. It very nearly was a complete sequence of 21 years and over 7000 photos, being only broken by a month in which the film was not properly wound on to the spool.

A year ago, a full moon. The little tree has since blown over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.