David Archer

I have a secret.
And what better way to keep a secret than to talk about it on the internet?!!!!!
As a child I listened to The Archers every Sunday because my mum and dad did. It was all so familiar - the theme music, the pantomime, the Flower and Produce Show........
I listened to it on and off over the years and then when when Miss L was tiny I got hooked when Nigel fell off the roof during the sixtieth anniversary programme.
Since then I've had it on series link to record the omnibus and I fall asleep listening to it most nights. Sometimes it can take me weeks to listen to one episode because I fall asleep after a few minutes!
It's the Buckingham Literary Festival this weekend and when I saw that David Archer and one of the scriptwriters were doing a session I couldn't resist! I do like a peek behind- the-scenes!!
I got myself a cup of tea and found a seat amongst all the OAPs and settled down for a very interesting afternoon.
It was so funny seeing "David Archer" in real life and hearing the familiar voice coming out of the man on stage (who doesn't really look like David Archer in my opinion!!!!)
He had some funny anecdotes and interesting behind the scenes chat. He doesn't think they should have killed Nigel off.
Well then you shouldn't have suggested climbing on the roof in the middle of a New Year's Eve party, in the dark, during a gale should you David???????
The scriptwriter was fascinating, talking about the process of coming up with storylines, then outlines for the next five weeks, then actual scripts. If anything he was more interesting than David (who's called Tim really!!)
There was a Q&A for the last fifteen minutes and my goodness Archers listeners are a tough crowd!!! Why kill off Nic not an older character? Who stole Fallon's bunting in 2015? What happened to Stefan? Is Rob coming back?
It was ace!!
Mr K and the Little Misses got home at about 9pm. They've had a lovely time in Devon with Grandad. It was his birthday today as well as Father's Day so it was lovely that Mr K had got to spend it with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.