WE'LL MEET AGAIN.....

What a wonderful day I’ve had and a fabulous Blipmeet. 

I have been following Rainette for a while and because of our love of poetry we had said how good it would be to have a Blipmeet and today was the day. 

I travelled from Swindon to Cheltenham and from there to the station at Birmingham University - incidentally, the only university with its own station.  The train was about twenty minutes late but we kept in touch by text and when I finally arrived Rainette was waiting on the platform - with a big smile on her face. I had worn my bright pink linen trousers so that she would recognise me - but I’m sure my smile was as big as hers! 

I was introduced to her husband, G, who whisked us in the car to their home, where we had an apéritif in their beautiful garden (middle top of the collage) with some delicious cheese straws before Rainette served a wonderful lunch.  We chatted over lunch and a glass or two of fine wine and we all got on like a house on fire;  it seemed as if we had known each other forever but then, we are in the same family - and all just happen to be Baptists. 

Because it was our first time of meeting for real, we chatted about our families and our churches and because Rainette’s daughter, Hamp5on, also blips  - inevitably a lot of the talk was Blip-related. 

After lunch we all went out to a favourite park that Rainette visits most days and I can see why. It was so beautiful and very peaceful (middle at the bottom of the collage) so we sat and had a cup of coffee - but not just any old coffee - we had French coffee!  I had great fun trying to take a selfie and a kind lady passing by asked if she could take a shot for us, which she did (top left).  

Then it was back to theirs for a Cream Tea with real clotted cream and strawberry jam, lemon cake and fruit shortbread (middle left) and of course, more chat.  Rainette even made up a little box with some cake for me to bring back for Mr. HCB - how kind!  What a lovely couple and a wonderful day - but it wasn’t over!

They got me back to the station in plenty of time, but the train I was due to catch from Birmingham New Street was delayed for about 45 minutes, so there was a lot of hanging about and disgruntled people.  However, the train eventually arrived and when I got on, I saw a group of four ladies and seeing them on their phones, asked if they were all OK for charging their phones because I had a charger with me.  They said they were fine but that started us off chatting and we chatted all the way to Cheltenham, then as we stood on the platform, so I decided another selfie was in order - but my arms weren’t quite long enough, so Jade did the honours (bottom left).  We then sat together and chatted all the way back to Swindon and even shared chocolate together!

What a great end to a perfect day - even the conductor on the train said how lovely it was to hear people laughing - and we could well have been miserable, because we missed our earlier connection and had to wait almost another hour.  We have even swapped phone numbers and said we will meet up for a meal before three of the young ladies go off to university in September.  How amazing is that?

So thank you, R & G for making me so welcome and being such wonderful hosts and thank you Sharon, Jade, Keliesha and Sunny for making what could have been a tedious journey back so full of fun and at least it meant that Mr. HCB could watch the football in peace.  I certainly hope we will all meet again - and perhaps with Mr. HCB next time!

This quote is especially for Jade:

My smile is my best feature…..
     and smiles don’t get fat!
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.