Signing the Parchment

Between Strasbourg yesterday and London tomorrow I managed to be in Edinburgh for half of today .

I needed to do so because I had to “sign the parchment” in the Court of Session having given my oath as a new Cabinet Secretary.

This is mandatory for Cabinet members but not required for Ministers and thus I didn’t have to do it the first time until the  21st of January 2010 when I formally became Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning.  Nor was it required when I came back as a Minister in August 2016.

In fact I didn’t think I would have to do it again but as I left Government  in November 2014 the lawyers decided it was necessary.

Signing is just what it says it is - it records that you have given the oath after the letter of appointment has been presented to the Court and the information registered .

The oath is administered by the Lord President.  Today Lord Carloway was sitting in Court Number 1, accompanied by the Lord Justice Clark , Lady Dorrien,  and Lady Paton.

Cathleen and Cailean were able to come (Cathleen missed it the last time because she was working) and the Principal Clerk very kindly offered to take our picture in the court at the end of the ceremony (which is my extra photo).     Cailean then, in an inspired thought, asked if I could  also take a photo of the parchment itself, and that was quickly agreed as well.

I have no pictures of the first time, so I am pleased to have this record - thanks to everyone who took part and organised it all so well.  

Thanks also to the Lord Advocate and the Solicitor General who were present as well as a number of advocates, court staff and even some casual spectators who must have wondered what was happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.